Best Day Ever!

IMG_3375

I just had the most amazing day!! Today was my first full day of work at Disneyland! I was lucky enough to get called in as a sub for the Ellis Island Boys on the Paradise Garden Stage at California Adventure. I’m still buzzing from the day!

I drove in this morning with so much nervous energy, that I don’t even remember the drive at all. When I arrived, I went through the security check, which was super easy, despite the “heightened security” signs posted everywhere. Ralf was there to greet me, and we just talked about how the day was going to go. John and Katie arrived shortly after, and suddenly the shuttle arrived to take us in. However the shuttle was only for me! Somehow, the transportation department interpreted my subbing to mean that I would need my own shuttle. Thankfully, Ralf fixed that, and we all got to ride in together. I didn’t know where to go, anyway.

Ralf gave me the quick once-over of the backstage area near our area, and we went out to set up. I was just trying to contain myself and focus; this is something I’ve been wanting to do since I was 10 years old! Concentration was something that was not going to come naturally today. After I got my keyboard set, and we did a quick sound check, I stood up from my station. Suddenly it hit me like lightning. I was looking out at the plaza…… from the stage….. This was actually going to happen. I was about to make music with some of my favorite musicians in one of my favorite places. I know that I have a lot of friends who have either done the gig, or shun it, and are a bit jaded by its downsides. However, my heart swelled up inside as I looked out because I have an affinity and a faith for the classic motivations of the company, and just to be connected to that in some remote way makes me very happy. This has been quite a few years in the making, and though I was only subbing, it just made me very happy. Laugh all you want, current and former cast members, but to me, this is an extremely important dream I’ve had for a very long time.

I was actually subbing for the lead voice in the band, which is a little bit different for me. The guys, and girl, made me feel right at home, and as we played the first set, I was all smiles. In fact, that just continued throughout the entire day, through the Heat Index 1, as our sets were cut short by 5 minutes, and even through watching the All-American College Band on our long lunch break. Overall, it has just been so lovely.

I met some very nice people, including the husband-and-wife team that are responsible for so many of Disneyland’s Entertainment publicity photos. They are responsible for the photos above. I can honestly say, that with those connected to my Facebook page, I’ve never seen so much activity! Perhaps more people than I thought actually know how long I’ve wanted this to happen. I am very grateful for all of you, and can’t wait to be back there again!

 

IMG_3376

Leave a Reply

