“Traditions”

TRADITIONS CLASS PICTURE
At the ToonTown Fountain. I’m in the middle row, left middle…

I am soooo excited today! It has been a long time coming… Ever since I was about 11 years old, I’ve wanted this moment to come. I just attended the Disneyland Cast Member Orientation known as “Traditions”! Every cast member has to go through it before they start working at the park. Sure, it’s not all that glamorous, a bunch of stuff on how to treat people and lots and lots of emphasis on safety. But, the moment did come at the end of the day, when the boss himself, Mickey Mouse, presented me with my official ID and Nametag! Weird, but I couldn’t breathe!! How silly am I?!?!?

When I was 11, I marveled at the piano player on Main Street, and one day he actually let me play a little. I played a couple of rags, and he told me to keep it up, and that maybe one day I’d get to do his job. Ever since then, I’ve wanted that spot. I even have a picture of it somewhere… I’ll have to dig it out and post it. The picture above is our “class of” picture that day. Bigger version in my Photos section.

Sure, I’m just a sub now… but it will only be a matter of time! I did get hired very quickly under some great recommendations, (Thanks Rusty and Art!) so I’m wondering if someone is getting ready to leave or retire… time will tell… I’d like to tell you more about the day, but Disney likes to keep a lot of things pretty top secret. Their business is magic, and no magician reveals their secrets! But I will say…. Cloud 9! That’s all for now!

Leave a comment